Proceedings of the XXVIIth Young European Radio Astronomers Conference (YERAC).
Go to: Front page, Participants, Group Photograph, Acknowledgements, Contributions.

YERAC: Preface

The XXVIIth Young European Astronomers Conference (YERAC) was held at the Mullard Radio Astronomy Observatory (MRAO), Cambridge from 1994 September 18th to the 23rd.

MRAO logo

The conference brought together about fifty young radio astronomers from twelve different European countries. This meeting continued a series of successful YERAC meetings that have been held every year since 1968.

     I  1968  Meudon          France
    II  1969  Manchester      United Kingdom
   III  1970  Dwingeloo       The Netherlands
    IV  1971  Bonn            (West) Germany
     V  1972  Bologna         Italy
    VI  1973  Cambridge       United Kingdom
   VII  1974  Onsala          Sweden
  VIII  1975  Meudon          France
    IX  1976  Torun           Poland
     X  1977  Dwingeloo       The Netherlands
    XI  1978  Manchester      United Kingdom
   XII  1979  Puschino        U.S.S.R.
  XIII  1980  Bologna         Italy
   XIV  1981  Bonn            (West) Germany
    XV  1982  Cambridge       United Kingdom
   XVI  1983  Onsala          Sweden
  XVII  1984  Zelenchukskaya  U.S.S.R.
 XVIII  1985  Grenoble        France
   XIX  1986  Dwingeloo       The Netherlands
    XX  1987  Torun           Poland
   XXI  1988  Manchester      United Kingdom
  XXII  1989  Kharkov         U.S.S.R.
 XXIII  1990  Guadalajara     Spain
  XXIV  1991  Onsala          Sweden
   XXV  1992  Bonn            Germany
  XXVI  1993  Meudon          France

MRAO is part of the Cavendish Laboratory, the Department of Physics of the Cambridge University. The Cavendish Laboratory, which is about 3 km from the centre of Cambridge, and the Observatory's radio telescopes are about 10 km to the south-west of Cambridge, at Lord's Bridge.

The programme of the conference consisted of scientific sessions in the Cavendish Laboratory all day on Monday and Wednesday, and in the mornings of Tuesday and Thursday. On Tuesday afternoon there was a visit to Lord's Bridge. Accommodation for the conference attendees was based at Wolfson Court (part of Girton College), a few minutes walk from the Cavendish Laboratory. Wolfson Court was also the site of two evening discourses, on Tuesday and Thursday, given by Profs John Baldwin and Richard Hills.

The Local Organizing Committee was:
Dr D.A. Green (Chairman),
Mr G. Cotter,
Ms J. Dennett-Thorpe,
Mr K. Grainge.

Go to: Front page, Participants, Group Photograph, Acknowledgements, Contributions.